Home > Company Updates > Why I’m Passionate About This Business

Why I’m Passionate About This Business

There are two types of people in the world: beach people, and mountain people. I am a beach person.

Growing up, I got to spend a week or two every summer with my family in Perdido Key, Florida. With crystal-clear water and pure, sugar-white sand as far as the eye can see, it is one of the most beautiful places on earth.

For my family, going to the beach was the highlight of our year. We looked forward to it for months in advance. Around February, we’d book our reservation and start a countdown. And as soon as we got home, we’d start planning our trip for next year. After my older sisters went to college and moved away, our yearly trip turned into an opportunity for the whole family to reunite and relive some of the memories we had created in summers past.

And to create new ones, too. Many of the memories I will treasure as long as I live took place on those beaches. My sister Laura screaming at the top of her lungs when she rode the Sky Coaster in Gulf Shores, as the rest of us laughed uncontrollably on the ground below. The Fourth of July fireworks on Pensacola Beach. The go-cart mishap with my brother-in-law. My niece Ellie taking her first steps. My mom breaking her leg and having to be carted around on the sand in a gigantic wheelchair that looked like a Dr. Seuss creation. Watching the news in our condo as OJ Simpson fled the police in his white Bronco. My sister flying in from Chicago to surprise us one year when we thought she wouldn’t be able to make it. My best friend Peter getting sunburned so bad he couldn’t even take a shower, after stubbornly insisting he didn’t need sunscreen the first day of the vacation. My whole family coming to visit me after I moved to Pensacola. And something that I will merely refer to as the chicken-friend salmon incident…

Memories aside, that vacation was an invaluable time to step back from the world and get perspective.  It was a time to reflect on the previous year and create a vision for the coming year–a time to ask the big questions in life: How am I different than the last time I was here? What do I want out of life? Where do I want to be this time next year? Will this rash go away on its own, or should I see a doctor?

Every year after my time at the beach, I’d come away refreshed and ready to attack the coming year with renewed enthusiasm and clarity of purpose.

As you can see, these vacations were precious to me and my family. The driving force behind this business is my passion for sharing that vacation experience with others. Everyone should have a time like that, where they can get away from the routine of their world and relax, reset, and reconnect with their loved ones.

This vision excites me as an entrepreneur because I see a need in the market that hasn’t been met. And it excites me as a man because I know I’m serving others and meeting needs in their lives. Vacations are anything but trivial; they have been transformative in my life, and I hope that they will be transformative for my customers as well.

 

Categories: Company Updates
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

