Home > Miscellaneous > Random Experiment with Facebook Likes

Random Experiment with Facebook Likes

Last week, Drudge linked to an article saying that 70% of Barrack Obama’s Twitter followers are fake. The next day, it was revealed that 71% of Lady Gaga’s followers were also fake. Apparently, celebrities buy likes and follows on social media, presumably with the intent of increasing ‘organic’ likes and follows.

So I’m going to implement this experiment on the Facebook page for one of my side projects to see if I can boost organic likes, and in turn traffic and conversions to my website. Obviously the likes you buy aren’t real people, and they’re not going to buy anything. I can’t imagine anyone actually believing that. The point is that you take advantage of the herd mentality that drives social media consumers; people are more likely to follow someone with a million other followers than someone with only a dozen.

I’m really wondering if the 7:3 fake-to-real ratio will hold true for my page. I guess we’ll find out. I’m using BoostLikes.com, who say they’ll give me 100 free Facebook likes if I mention them on my blog. This should be interesting.

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

